I am

With thanks to @Debrakidd and “Don’t Change the Lightbulbs” for the inspiration.

I am good at loving, and intensely loyal.
I wonder what would happen if I said “yes” to more things?
I hear the laughter of my children and the laughter of my childhood.
I want things I can’t have and happy endings I can only dream of.
I am good at loving, and intensely loyal.

I pretend that music is playing and I’m not the only one dancing.
I feel sad that there isn’t more laughter in the world.
I touch smooth stones, fine-grained wood and cool ceramics to feel calm.
I worry that I’m raising my children in love and peace and they won’t survive in a world of hatred and rage.
I cry about that sometimes.
I am good at loving and intensely loyal.

I understand that we don’t always get what we deserve.
I say “There’s always more room in the fridge” (this is a philosophy, not a statement of fact)
I dream a terrible dream where someone wants me to sacrifice one of my children to save the others. I can’t. If we go, we go together.
I try to be the mum the children and their friends can talk to, and the boss my teams will one day say inspired them to great things.
I hope the world is becoming more my kinda place.
I am good at loving and intensely loyal.

20140921-162309.jpg

Leave a Reply

